Search: Start search
Area information
11,135 hectares


Main peaks:
Cima Tosa (3,173 m)
Cima Brenta (3,150 m)
Crozzon di Brenta (3,118 m)
Cima Vallesinella (3,114 m)
Cima d’Ambiez (3,102 m)
Cima Mandron (3,040 m)
Spallone dei Massodi (2,999 m) 
Cima Falkner (2,999 m)
Cima Vallon (2,968 m)
Cima Brenta Alta (2,960 m)
Cima Agola (2,959 m)
Cima d’Armi (2,951 m)
Campanile di Brenta (2,937 m)
Campanil Basso (2,883 m)

Nature reserves:
Parco Naturale Adamello Brenta
(UNESCO Geopark Adamello Brenta)				
Selection criteria

Reasons why the Dolomiti di Brenta were included in the Dolomites World Heritage serial property

Aesthetic and scenic criterion:

Extraordinary number and variety of vertical walls, peaks above 3000 meters and bare rocks. The massifs can be classified into geometric figures like prisms and parallelepipeds, and their aesthetic value is celebrated in literature.

Geological and geomorphological criterion:

Well-preserved stratigraphic succession. Significant intrinsic and extrinsic geodiversity. The typical Dolomite Landscape shows the geomorphologic effects of climatic and morphodynamic phenomena. There is also ample evidence of karst phenomena.

Visit the Dolomites

Dolomiti di Brenta

Solemn and austere

Dolomiti di Brenta after a thunderstorm – picture taken form the Val di Non valley floor | Courtesy of: Apt Val di Non e Dolomiti di Brenta The Dolomiti di Brenta are the ninth and last of the systems forming the Dolomites UNESCO World Heritage Site. Tocated in the province of Trento, this is the westernmost section of the site. The system stands out for its majestic forms, more austere and less plastic than the rest of the Dolomites. Here the stratigraphic succession and stages of the structural and tectonic evolution of the Dolomites are well represented.

Dolomiti di Brenta and the village of Sarnonico in Val di Non – picture taken from Ronzone or Malosco | Courtesy of: Apt Val di Non e Dolomiti di Brenta The Dolomiti di Brenta, rising inside the nature reserve Parco Naturale Adamello Brenta, are a long mountain range stretching for 42 km and with a width of 12 km in a series of peaks, ramparts, gullies, rocky plateaus and pinnacles of the most varied shapes and sizes. The system is bounded to the south by the Giudicarie, to the north by the Val di Sole valley, to the east by the Val di Non valley and to the west by the Val Rendena valley. The area features also many lakes, such as Molveno Lake and Tovel Lake .

The Dolomiti di Brenta can be divided into 4 separate sections: the southern section with Cima Tosa, the highest peak of the group; the central section, made of Main Dolomite, with the peaks Brenta and Grosté; the northern section with the Pietra Grande and Sasso Rosso; and the section of Campa with Monte Corona. Among all the peaks of the group the most famous, especially among climbers, is without a doubt Campanil Basso.

Geomorphology and geology

From a geomorphological point of view, the Dolomiti di Brenta, made of calcareous and dolomite rocks, present three types of geomorphological diversity: here you can see landforms and shapes related to the tectonics, like escarpments, aiguilles and pinnacles; active erosion phenomena due to the current freezing/thawing activity and relic forms shaped by the action of ancient glaciers; and a well-developed karst system, both at surface level, with wells and ridged fields, and at subterranean level, with caves and sinkholes.

From a geological point of view, the Dolomiti di Brenta describe the history of the Dolomites from the Permian to the Jurassic. The stratigraphic succession from the Norian-Liassic, illustrating the transition between the Trento Platform and the Lombard Basin, is especially well-preserved.

Did you know that…

Thanks to the presence of a special type of algae, in summer the waters of the Tovel Lake used to turn red. Since 1964 this doesn’t happen anymore, maybe due to environment pollution.